Mobile Data being used for phone calls/texts --- and International question

ArielJArielJ Posts: 2FreedomPop Newbie
I am new to Freedompop, and was unaware they use data to run their phone service, but now I know. So is there anyone currently on the 500mb, 200min, 500 txt plan that can tell me whether or not having data on to receive/make calls uses up the 500mb allotment of data? I'm concerned that this may not be enough mb for a month if I have to keep data on at all times.

Also, I know the Global SIM says it works in multiple different countries, yet on my account there are the options for international plans. When I go to Europe next year, can't I just use my regular phone with FreedomPop's Global SIM? Are these "Global Plus" plans for calling international from the US? If I just want to make calls within European countries, would I need to sign up for one of these plans?

Thanks!!

Comments

• djphilosophydjphilosophy Posts: 31FreedomPop Newbie
    FP reimburses you the data used for making calls with it's app. Obviously when you're at home or places with Wi-Fi, you can get on that, which will also give you a more stable connection.

The international plans are for calling TO those countries, whether now (when you're in the US) or abroad, including in a country that is not a FreedomPop country, but on Wi-Fi. So yes, sign up for the free international plan. Note that the free calls in some countries are to landlines only. Make a screen-grab of the list so you have it later, as one you're signed up it's impossible to find. Europeans tend to keep calls short because the rates are higher (and the caller pays), and use WhatsApp or Viber for longer calls on Wi-Fi.

Note that the SIM has not been working in Hungary and Denmark for months, despite those countries being listed as supported.
  • njfulwider5njfulwider5 Posts: 10,413FreedomPop Newbie, FreedomPop Master, Test Role, FreedomPop Expert, FreedomFan, Android Master , FP Flyer ✭✭✭✭✭
    ArielJ said: